News |

NCIRS Director Professor Kristine Macartney elected as AAHMS Fellow

NCIRS Director Professor Kristine Macartney has been elected as a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences (AAHMS).

Each year, the Fellowship elects the best and brightest minds in Australia to join the academy in recognition of their outstanding achievements and exceptional, ongoing contributions in the field of medical and health sciences. Professor Macartney joins 30 other new Fellows from around Australia across a wide range of fields and specialties.

Professor Kristine Macartney is a vaccinologist and infectious diseases paediatrician. She was appointed as the director of NCIRS in 2018. Professor Macartney is an expert on vaccine safety, policy and implementation, and vaccine preventable viral diseases, including influenza, SARS-CoV-2 (cause of COVID-19), rotavirus and varicella-zoster.

Professor Macartney is a member of the World Health Organization advisory groups, including the Global Advisory Committee on Vaccine Safety and COVID-19 in Education, and serves on all key vaccine/communicable disease Australian advisory committees.

Congratulations to all the Fellows elected this year. Learn more about their achievements here.