The Scientific Advisory Committee contributes to and endorses NCIRS’s long-term national research and surveillance strategy; systematically monitors the performance of NCIRS scientific outcomes; monitors the quality of the research and surveillance systems and processes used by NCIRS in its work; and identifies emerging matters that should be incorporated into the long-term strategy.


  • Professor Ross Andrews, Professor of Epidemiology, Queensland Health


  • Professor Helen Marshall, Consultant in Vaccinology and Medical Director, Vaccinology and Immunology Research Trials Unit, Women's and Children's Hospital, NHMRC Practitioner Fellow and Professor in Vaccinology, School of Medicine/ Deputy  Director and Research Leader, Robinson Research Institute, The University of Adelaide, Honorary Principal Research Fellow, The South Australian Health and Medical Research Institute (SAHMRI)
  • Professor Jim Buttery, Professor of Child Health Informatics, Department of Paediatrics, University of Melbourne Infectious Diseases Physician, Chief Clinical Research Information Officer, Royal Children’s Hospital Head of Health Informatics  Research Group, Head of Epidemiology and Signal Detection, SAFEVIC, Murdoch Children’s Research Institute Senior Medical Advisor, Vaccination Program, COVID-19 Response, Department of Health 
  • Professor John Kaldor, Scientia Professor of Epidemiology and NHMRC Senior Principal Research Fellow, Program Head, Public Health Interventions Research Program, Kirby Institute, University of New South Wales
  • Professor Peter Richmond, Head – Vaccine Trials Group, Wesfarmers Centre of Vaccines and Infectious Diseases, Telethon Kids Institute; Head – Department of Immunology, and Consultant Paediatric Immunologist and Paediatrician, Perth Children’s Hospital; Head – Department of Child Health Research and Director, Child Health Research Network, Child and Adolescent Health Service; and Head – Division of Paediatrics, Faculty of Health and Medical Sciences, UWA Medical School, University of Western Australia
  • Professor Tom Snelling, Director, Health and Clinical Analytics Team, The University of Sydney School of Public Health; Paediatric Infectious Diseases Physician, Sydney Children’s Hospital Network; Team Head of Adaptive Health Intelligence and Honorary Research Fellow, Wesfarmers Centre of Vaccines and Infectious Diseases, Telethon Kids Institute
  • Associate Professor Jane Smith, Head, General Practice, Lead of Clinical Program Assessment, Lead of Year 5, Faculty of Health Sciences & Medicine, Bond University; General Practitioner, Robina Town Medical Centre
  • Associate Professor Margie Danchin, Group Leader, Vaccine Uptake, Murdoch Children's Research Institute; Paediatrician, Department of General Medicine, The Royal Children's Hospital; Clinician Scientist Fellow, Department of Paediatrics, The University of Melbourne; Chair, Collaboration on Social Science and Immunisation (COSSI)
  • Associate Professor Penelope (Penny) Burns, ANU Academic Department of General Practice Senior Lecturer, School of Medicine, Western Sydney University; Co-Chair, Primary Care SIG Chapter, World Association for Disaster & Emergency Medicine; Deputy Chair, Disaster Management SIG Royal Australian College of General Practitioners; General Practitioner, Northern Beaches Hospital Medical Centre
  • Associate Professor James Wood, School of Population Health,  Faculty of Medicine and Health, UNSW, Sydney
  • Dr Janine Mohamed, Chief Executive Officer, Lowitja Institute
  • Ms Alison Marcus, Representative, Consumer Health Forum of Australia; Member, Advisory Committee on Medicines, Australian Government Department of Health
  • Mrs Catherine Hughes, Director, Immunisation Foundation of Australia
  • Ms Karen Booth, President, Australian Primary Health Care Nurses Association

Government Representatives

  • Mr Nicholas Stoney, Assistant Secretary, Immunisation and Communicable Diseases Branch, Population Health Division, Australian Government Department of Health and Aged Care
  • Dr Pen Polkinghorne, Director, Communicable Disease Epidemiology and Surveillance Section, Australian Government Department of Health and Aged Care
  • Dr Sonya Ennis, Manager, Immunisation Unit, Health Protection NSW, NSW Ministry of Health

NCIRS Executive Management

  • Professor Kristine Macartney, Director, NCIRS; Professor, The University of Sydney Children’s Hospital Westmead Clinical School; Staff Specialist, Department of Microbiology and Infectious Diseases, The Children’s Hospital at Westmead
  • Associate Professor Nicholas Wood, Associate Director – Clinical Research and Services, NCIRS; Senior Staff Specialist, Department of General Paediatrics, The Children’s Hospital at Westmead; Associate Professor, Academic Leader (Postgraduate studies), The University of Sydney Children’s Hospital Westmead Clinical School
  • Associate Professor Frank Beard, Associate Director – Coverage, Evaluation Surveillance and Social Science (Public Health Physician), NCIRS; Senior Lecturer, The University of Sydney School of Public Health
  • Dr Clayton Chiu, Associate Director – Immunisation Policy Support and Guideline Development (Public Health Physician), NCIRS; Lecturer, The University of Sydney Children’s Hospital Westmead Clinical School
  • Professor Bette Liu, Associate Director, Population Health, NCIRS; Professor, School of Population Health, UNSW
  • Dr Helen Quinn, Manager – Vaccine Safety (Senior Research Fellow), NCIRS; Senior Lecturer, Discipline of Child and Adolescent Health, The University of Sydney Children’s Hospital Westmead Clinical School
  • Dr Aditi Dey, Senior Research Fellow, NCIRS; Conjoint Senior Lecturer, The University of Sydney School of Medicine
  • Mr Michael Wong, Manager – Global Health and Strategic Projects, NCIRS
  • Ms Emma Carey, Coordinating Nurse Manager, PAEDS
  • Ms Karyn Phillips, Manager – Research Operations, NCIRS
  • Ms Stoy Drinic, Manager – Research Grants and Contracts, NCIRS



  • Ms Karyn Phillips, Manager - Research Operations, NCIRS
  • Ms Bronwyn Ward, Senior Administrative Officer – Contract Management and Policy Support
Last updated June 2024